Your unfair advantage

Happy new month

In the fall of 2022, I was in a situation where I didn't have a PC or a smartphone.

In dire need of a breakthrough to step up. I borrowed a friend's PC to start working on my portfolio, projects, articles etc.

Then I was reaching out to businesses to get freelance gigs etc. Pitching them my projects and articles hoping to get some money to step back up. I didn't get a single one.

Broke asf. Something tragic happened to my friend and I didn't have access to the PC anymore.

I was frustrated. I was forced to look around and see if there was anything for me. Then I realized most of the small businesses around didn't have tech or online strategies that could improve their reach and grow their business and I could help them with that.

I was able to put some things together. I found an internet cafe where I was allowed to borrow their PC for an unstable time, it wasn't connected to the internet and was low spec so I had to write HTML and CSS on Notepad until I could run portable sublime text on a flash drive.

Then I found this old phone around in my house, the charging point wasn't working, the network was poor and, well you can take a look at it...

Photo of the phone I used to cold call

By the beginning of January 2023, I'd grab my Dad's smartphone at night (sometimes if he was chanced) and google "restaurants near me", "printing stores near me" etc. Then I'd write their emails on paper and send cold emails to offer web design services. Didn't get any response as I kept doing it for weeks.

Then I started writing their phone numbers at night, then I'd go outside in the morning to cold call with that phone I told you I found and then go to the cafe in the afternoon to write code and stuff.

I faced lots of rejections, failures, depressing insults, etc on the cold call outreach, especially as I'm an introvert and was taking a huge leap from my comfort zone.

Eventually, I got better and learned from my mistakes by myself. I didn't have access to take any courses, read any books or get any mentors who could help.

One day I called a hotel and asked to speak with the manager and they were like "You can come over". I told them when I'd come, prepared a printout and showed up the next morning.

That was the beginning of my journey as a tech consultant. I've learned so much from the hands-on experience, to figure out how to market my skills and give people value.

I have lots of stories and lessons to share on this, I later went on to close better deals, read and watched actual lessons, this increased my output significantly.

I got to reach 40+ businesses, till I stopped. Then focused on my startup and used my skills to send emails, jump on meetings and close partnerships with companies. I've had conversations with Nord, Kantar, Neo breed marketing, and an exhaustive list of companies and I got to close deals with some of them.

Used this same skills to get job offers and other opportunities.

I wouldn't have gotten anywhere without utilizing my unfair advantages:

My friend's PC was an unfair advantage,

The cafe was an unfair advantage,

The phone was an unfair advantage.

My Dad's phone was an unfair advantage.

You need to find and utilize your own unfair advantages for your success.

Here's one unfair advantage for you:

I'm about to resume the game once again and harder, with all the knowledge I have now, my expertise on email tech, the arts, concepts, psychology, etc, on how to approach and get what you want from businesses or the people that matter.

I'll be using it to work on some of my projects, including Blocktip (300+ cryptos are live btw, Signup for Blocktip to start receiving tips and support in crypto).

So I'm starting a cohort to teach you along to smash your own goals with email & outreach strategies while I do the same.

I'm opening only 3 spots. We'll be dissecting various topics where I'll share more of my experiences, stories, lessons, insights, technical knowledge, etc on how to close clients.

We'll have accountability dashboards where we'll all do large amounts of reps after the lessons and make sure we do enough inputs that it wouldn't make any sense not to smash those goals.

This is NOT for you if you:

• Want to remain in the same place

• Are lazy

• Are impatient and prefer comfort 24/7

• Can't dedicate time, resources and energy to your goals.

This is for you if you need to:

• Get a job(s)

• Get clients for your service

• Get customers for your product

• Close partnerships with companies.

• Network, get mentors, teammates or other people that can contribute to your career growth.

• Get more opportunities for anything you're doing.

• Find more ways to monetize your skills.

• Learn a quality skill that is monetizable and you can build on.

• Other creative ways you can apply it.

Check out this form to learn more: https://forms.gle/WPQy4RJe4xvmKgiH8

I'll send you an email for the next steps if you're selected and add you to the cohort.

See you soon,

Praise J.J.